Denis Leary – No Cure for Cancer Track 1

Ok… so markers are assholes. They go through the assignments with the minimal effort that they can put into it. It is evident that they do this.

I got my Operating Systems assignment back and this was made very clear to me. There were comments on it such as “Needs more comments”, and then later “It should only be 2”. The combination of these two amused me because on the line where it said that “It should only be 2” there was a comment explaining why it wasn’t 2… Nice.

On that question I lost 1 point for not putting comments in the code even though on every line it was quite obvoius what was going on, to make sure that it wasn’t just me who understood the code, I gave it to my friend (an arts major) and she could tell me exactly what was going on at any line that I pointed to. I am a firm believer in the fact that if the code is written properly there do not need to be a whole bunch of comments. If you name a function stringToInt… what else could be going on really? I managed to argue my mark up 1 point for that part as the marker realised that he was being an ass (I guess…).

The other problem I had was on the last question of the assignment. There was supposed to be a proof of some sort. The marker asked the professor how to mark this part, and the teacher gave him some guidelines to go by. This gave the marker free reign to just throw marks on the page without actually thinking about it. He then protested that he ‘couldn’t understand the proof’ when I said that my proof was right. It was pretty evident that the proof was lost on him and that he didn’t understand it, nor had he made any effort to do so. Way to go the extra mile there buddy.

–Sean

Leave a Reply

